Key Realty School offers four appraisal courses all designed to complete state requirements surrounding pre internship education (See the continuing education page for any course work completed during and after the internship) The state of Nevada requires 78 hours of initial appraisal education before an individual can become a registered intern recognized by the state. (See: The Nevada Appraisal Licensing Page AND http://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/nac%2D645c.html#NAC645CSec243 for an explanation of the requirements) Please note the subject matter that makes up the 78 hour session listed below. Recent changes have been made to the appraisal licensing requirements by the Appraisal Foundation. These changes are commonly referred to as the 2015 criteria changes. Click here to examine the 2015 criteria changes in detail.
The pre licensing program is divided into four parts, but it can be taken as one whole to meet the intern education: (Each course or section can be used for continuing education for existing appraisers if needed.
The pre licensing course can be completed through classroom instruction or online studies.
–30 hours “Appraisal Principles” Tuition : $295.00 (Includes all your materials) Will provide the basics to students with no appraisal background. This 6 day course will provide students with the basic principles of appraisal including aspects of Real Property Concepts, Legal Considerations, Influences on Values, Economic Principles and ethical elements of appraisal. This course is traditionally taken as part of the 78 hour appraisal course but may be taken as review or for continuing education.
–30 hours “Appraisal Procedures” Tuition : $295.00 ( Includes all your materials) An overview of real property concepts and characteristics, legal considerations, value influences, real estate finance, types of value and economic influences related to appraisal. This 6 day course will provide students with the basic procedures of appraisal including aspects of report writing, Valuation Procedures, Data Collection and Data Analysis. This course is traditionally taken as part of the 78 hour appraisal course but may be taken as review or for continuing education.
–15 hours “USPAP 2014-15” Tuition : $195.00 ( Includes course workbook) Introduce/review Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice. NOTE: Students are encouraged but not required to purchase the 2014-15 USPAP Textbook separately and bring their copy to the course. Key Realty School no longer sells the textbook at the school admissions office. The current USPAP textbook can be purchased as a digital file or hard copy directly through the Appraisal Foundation: The course tuition does include the 15 hour USPAP student manual. The 15 Hour Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice is a three day seminar that will meet the Appraisal Foundation and Nevada Pre Licensing requirement relative to USPAP pre licensing hours. This course is always taught by an Appraisal Foundation approved instructor and therefore the certificate can be used in multiple states toward pre licensing requirements. This course is traditionally taken as part of the 78 hour appraisal course but may be taken as review or for continuing education. NOTE: The 15 Hour course will not count toward the 7 Hour USPAP Continuing Education requirement.
–3 hours Nevada Appraisal Law Tuition : $95.00 ( Includes State materials) This course is a popular add on to any online course that does not include the 3 hour Nevada appraisal law and this course may be required for those students taking online only course activity. The 3 hour Nevada Appraisal Law course is designed to meet the minimum NV Law pre licensing requirements. The primary curriculum focus will be NRS and NAC 645C. This course is traditionally taken as part of the 78 hour appraisal course but may be taken as review or for continuing education.
-Optional practical sessions: Students may complete observation appraisals for more practical insight. The onsite appraisals are usually conducted on Saturdays during the 78 hour increment. The onsite sections are not required to be granted certificates of education. (There is no additional fee for practical sessions)
Students may enroll in the combination of all 78 hours of instruction for $495 in tuition. This fee includes all course textbooks and student manuals.
- February 2 through March 2 2015 – 5PM to 10PM M-F
- August 3 through August 26 2015 – 5PM to 10PM M-F
- November 2 through December 4 2015 – 5PM to 10PM M-F
Online courses have become a popular way to complete the Appraisal pre licensing requirements. The course package will include the required topics of:
– 30 Hour Appraisal Principles
– 30 Hour Appraisal Procedures
– 15 Hour USPAP
– 3 Hour Nevada Appraisal Law
The online delivery system for real estate appraisal license courses was one of the first in the nation to gain approval from IDEC The IDEC standards insure the best quality in delivery and support is routinely delivered to the student. Online Real Estate Appraiser Schools displaying this seal have met the high standards of quality required by the International Distance Education Certification Center for online real estate appraiser licensing courses an